Mario Kart Love Song

Posted by LiviDol | Posted in | Posted on 3:30 PM

0




http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VDBpQVhCMb8


I heard this song for the first time a few years ago (probably around the time I was visiting the ocremix site often) and I remember crying the first time I heard it. It was absolutely adorable.

Heres a hint why. The lyrics:

You be my princess
And I'll be your toad
I'll follow behind you
On rainbow road
Protect you from red shells
Wherever we go
I promise.

No one will touch us
If we pick up a star
And if you spin out
You can ride in my car
When we slide together
We generate sparks
In our wheels and our hearts

The finish line
Is just around the bend
I'll pause this game
So our love will never end
Let's go again
The blue shell is coming
So I'll go ahead
If you hang behind
It'll hit me instead
But never look back
Cause I'm down but not dead
I'll catch up to you

Don't worry about
Bowser or DK
Just eat this glowing mushroom
And they'll all fade away

The finish line
Is just around the bend
I'll pause this game
So our love will never end
Let's go again

The finish line
Is just around the bend
I'll pause this game
So our love will never endLet's go again
To the mushroom cup
And the flower cup
And the star cup
And the reverse cup


They are just so clever and wonderful and I love them. Also, funny story to go along with this song. I once, being a girl and crying out for attention, put the link up in my facebook status and said something along the lines of " I wish someone would write me a video game song like this." And surprisingly, someone did. Buutttt. it wasn't very good. The lyrics weren't bad. If I can find it in my thousands of itunes songs, I'll put some examples up.

Found it!

It's called "Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, B, A, Start!" And some of the lyrics are, "You'll be player 1 and I'll be player 2 and the world will be saved by just me and you." Like, how cute. Too bad he sings really out of tune.

More Video Game Music

Posted by LiviDol | Posted in | Posted on 3:20 PM

0




http://ocremix.org/

Let's talk about this website for a second. I haven't been on it in a while, but when I was in high school, I was all about this website. But now for the purpose of this blog, I'm looking it up again.

It's seriously a wonderful website. People from all over the world, with all shapes and sizes, can post mixes of video game music they have done. I have found the most beautifully arranged Legend of Zelda songs on here, written just for piano. There are techno jazz versions of Star Fox tunes.

This website really takes you back to your child hood final fantasy playing days (unless you still do that now, I know I do) and allows you to connect with the game in a whole new fashion.

Check out some of my favorites:

Tetris Piano Concerto in A minor by Jeremy Robson

Fire Emblem Etude for Piano in f# minor by Bladiator

Sailor Moon S&M Ravebody OC ReMix by dj Preztle

Awkward Childhood

Posted by LiviDol | Posted in | Posted on 7:35 PM

0


I'm just gonna come right out and say it. I have a thing, and by thing I mean a pretty big thing for fictional characters. I love them, and I love to love them. The list goes on and on. From Han Solo, to Sirius Black, to Hiei from Yu Yu Hakusho to Link from Legend of Zelda.

Link was a huge crush of mine when I was little. The first few Zelda games weren't the cause of it, nosiree. God damn that Ocarina of Time. It was life changing. And now, when I say life changing, I generally mean it. Because think about it, how can something be life changing?
(It changes your life, btw) But Orcarina of Time changed my life because little young Link grew up and got HOT. Seriously, hott. With the sword, and the tunic, and that biggoron's sword that was probably overcompensating for something but we'll just ignore that. AND. wait for it, on top of it all, Link was a musician. Music is a way to a girls heart, at least this girl's. And you put an instrument in a boy's hand and the hottness level just skyrockets. Even if it is just an ocarina.

Also, he did so well with animals. It was adorable. Except for the chickens...

Also, also. IkindofhadathingforSonictheHedgehog. I know I know I
knowIknowIknow. It's weird because he's a hedgehog. Like, super weird. And it's weird because he's blue, and was a hedgehog. I get it okay? It would be like having feelings for Clifford the Big Red Dog. and I get that. Don't judge. But it was confusing because he was a male, and they personified him SO WELL, and he SAVEDTHEWORLD. You can't not love a hero. Society tells us we have
to love heroes, because you have too. They're heroes, duh. But this particular one was a hedgehog. Luckily, I got over Sonic because A) he was a hedgehog and 2) Tuxedo Mask from Sailor Moon.

8th notes and 8 bits

Posted by LiviDol | Posted in | Posted on 10:09 AM

0


8bit music, or chipsomething or whatever is like really cool. It's videogame sounds from like... the 80's put into all sorts of order and musical harmonies to make awesome, pure awesome techno-ish music. It's totally danceable and it brings you right back to your childhood when your day was made when Mario collected all the coins.

My favorite 8bit band is called "Anamanaguchi" and here is their website.

http://www.anamanaguchi.com/index.php





The first single that shows up on the website to play called, "blackout city" is probs my favorite. Something about it makes me just want to get up and dance around and flail. Flail until I can't breathe and I just want to sit down and watch my boyfriend play Halo Reach until I fall asleep. Thats what this music makes me want to do. Dance and then be nerdy with the person I love. So nerdy.



Also, I saw this band live once. I was at a Harry and the Potters concert at Lupos in Providence. Thats right, Harry and the Potters. It's a band, about Harry Potter and it's awesome. There's actually a lot of them, but this blog post isn't about Harry Potter. It's about bands who hack into NES systems and make gorgeous music out of it. The point of this paragraph is that seeing them live was fantastic. They were the opener for the opener for the Potters and they had me dancing rather than stalking in the back with my arms crossed annoyed because shitty music isn't what I came for. You may ask how does one band perform 8bit music live? Well they had prerecordings of the 8bit Nintendo stuff, and then they were rockin' out on guitars and a drummer was drummin' and everyone was dancin' and it was fantastic. I definitely recommend a listen, especially if you're a Nintendo, oldskool video game fan.

Marching Video Game?

Posted by LiviDol | Posted in | Posted on 9:31 PM

0

Watch this video:


So this video is like, the coolest thing I've ever seen. In my life. My ENTIRE life. Well, thats a little bit of an exaggeration. BUT IS IT?

I'm in the URI Marching Band (flute section leader, akshully. kthx) and I wish we could do a show as awesome as this. The best part is the end when the flag moves down
the staff. JUST LIKE IT DOES IN THE GAME.

This is like two worlds combining for me. Half marching band nerd, half video game nerd. It's kind of spectacular.

About the Blog

Posted by LiviDol | Posted in | Posted on 4:34 PM

0




I believe that growing up the youngest girl with two older brothers to be a blessing, and completely awesome.

When most girls my age were sneak-watching Titanic, I was enjoying episodes of Dragon Ball Z, because thats what my brothers forced me to watch. When we went over to my aunts house, my brothers always brought the Star Wars movies to watch. When my brother wouldn't let me watch T.V because he was playing Legend of Zelda, I'd sit there and watch. I grew up knowing how to kick ass at Smash brothers because if I didn't want to loose all the time to my older brothers, I had to be pretty good. Sometimes, I think leaning over to the nerdy side was a defensive mechanism. It was easier to enjoy playing with Star Wars legos and watching toonami every day after school than it was to fight with my brothers. That, and biting. Well, I still try to bite if I feel threatened. I guess I'll never grow out of my childhood.

Sometimes, I'll be honest. it sucked just a little bit. With no older sisters, I never learned out to play hop scotch correctly, I couldn't jump rope as well as other girls in my class, I'd rather play with action figures instead of Barbies, I didn't even know what skipping was until I had a quiz on it in gym. Oh well.

Ideally, I want this blog to be a place where I can embrace what my childhood has nurtured me to become, and the interests that I've developed. This includes anything from nerdy t-shirts to the reasons I enjoying watching people play video games. As a music major at the University of Rhode Island, expect a lot of posts about music in said video games. As an avid reader expect at a lot of comparisons to books, which can explain the post below this. A comparison to Princess Peach and Bella Swan from the Twilight series. And finally, as a fan, expect a lot of fandom.

Princess Bella Swan

Posted by LiviDol | Posted in | Posted on 9:23 AM

0


Princess Peach. Bella Swan.

There are smiliarties between them. Like, seriously, think about it. I promise you.

They are both completely Dependant on the boys they have lured in slowly, but surely with the use of general clumsiness and being the only
female character in a video game.
With Bella, it's a vampire family, a whole pack of werewolfs, and the few mortal stragglers that don't stand a chance. Princess Peach is surronded by italian plumbers, giant mutant turtledinosaurs and talking mushrooms.

Seriously, talking mushrooms.

Whenever Bella or Peach are in trouble, who comes in to rescue them? Men. Who is constantly sneaking in through windows and stealing them out of their homes? Edward Cullen and Bowser. Both men (in the sense that Vampires and giant Turtledinosaurs can be). What do Bella and Peach do when they are being kidnapped? Flail, they flail a whole lot. These two characters have feminists pulling out their hair.



Something else they have in common? They are constantly leading boys on. Bella is constantly stringing Jacob Black along, giving him false hope, making him fight with "perfect" Ed
ward Cullen. Thats not even mentioning the boys that had their sights on innocent, clueless, clumsy Bella Swan when she walked into her new school for the first time. And Peach? Well, Peach isn't any better. Why do you think Toad sticks around in the castle, jumping up and down in a panic, explaining to Mario what happened? Because he looooves her. In my opinion at least. And Peach doesn't do anything about it, she just lets poor Toad stand in the castle day after day, night after night, waiting for Mario to be the better man and rescue the Princess.

Also. Why do you think Bowser keeps kidnapping the princess over and over again, with whatever chance he has? Probably because he wants her too.
SERIOUSLY. Bella and Peach? Do something yourselfs for once. Dear Peach, kicking and flailing when Bowser throws you over his turtleshell clearly is not a good method for not getting kidnapped. And Bella? You make me sick.

Does this mean they are bad literary characters? No, Bella is actually pretty damn realistic. She's clumsy, looking for acceptance, has zero self esteem, believes her mancandy is better much, much better than her. This remind you of anything, ladies? I might be speaking for myself but this definitely brings me back to my high school days. No joke, I was Band President, kinda gawky with flaming red hair. My high school boyfriend? He was on the football team and P.E was his favorite class. It's like your average Taylor Swift song.
Also.

Does this mean that I'm not gonna be Princess Peach for Halloween this year? No, you bet your pretty face I'm going pink dress shopping tomorrow.