8th notes and 8 bits
Posted by LiviDol | Posted in | Posted on 10:09 AM
0
8bit music, or chipsomething or whatever is like really cool. It's videogame sounds from like... the 80's put into all sorts of order and musical harmonies to make awesome, pure awesome techno-ish music. It's totally danceable and it brings you right back to your childhood when your day was made when Mario collected all the coins.
http://www.anamanaguchi.com/index.php
My favorite 8bit band is called "Anamanaguchi" and here is their website.

The first single that shows up on the website to play called, "blackout city" is probs my favorite. Something about it makes me just want to get up and dance around and flail. Flail until I can't breathe and I just want to sit down and watch my boyfriend play Halo Reach until I fall asleep. Thats what this music makes me want to do. Dance and then be nerdy with the person I love. So nerdy.
Also, I saw this band live once. I was at a Harry and the Potters concert at Lupos in Providence. Thats right, Harry and the Potters. It's a band, about Harry Potter and it's awesome. There's actually a lot of them, but this blog post isn't about Harry Potter. It's about bands who hack into NES systems and make gorgeous music out of it. The point of this paragraph is that seeing them live was fantastic. They were the opener for the opener for the Potters and they had me dancing rather than stalking in the back with my arms crossed annoyed because shitty music isn't what I came for. You may ask how does one band perform 8bit music live? Well they had prerecordings of the 8bit Nintendo stuff, and then they were rockin' out on guitars and a drummer was drummin' and everyone was dancin' and it was fantastic. I definitely recommend a listen, especially if you're a Nintendo, oldskool video game fan.

Comments (0)
Post a Comment